Chemin Kempt Road

The "Centre d'interprétation historique du Chemin Kempt" is located at the beginning of Kempt Road, in St. John United Church of Canada, a Protestant church built in 1953 that was closed to worship in 1994. The Centre has preserved the pews, wood stove and altar of the original Protestant church built in 1861.

In addition to the liturgical objects, the Centre features antique dishes and tools as well as old photographs and documents, some of which recount the construction of the Chemin Kempt Road in 1830. Among the archival documents are the marriage, birth and death certificates of the first English-speaking settlers in Ristigouche from 1830 to 1925. The Centre also hosts painting and craft exhibitions.

Three kilometres from the Centre d'interprétation, visitors can take a hiking trail to the Chutes à Normand, a 20-minute walk through beautiful forest, greenery and waterfalls. There are also areas for resting or picnicking.

Le centre d'interprétation historique du Chemin Kempt est situé au début du Chemin Kempt, au sein de l'ancienne église St John United. Une église protestante qui fut bâtie en 1953 mais à l'intérieur on y retrouve les bancs d'église, l'autel, et le poêle à bois qui viennent de l'église originale bâtie en 1861.

En plus des objects mentionés ci-haut, le centre contient des antiquités tels vaisselles, outils, photos et documents, quelques-uns qui racontent la construction du Chemin Kempt en 1830.

Parmi les documents, nous retrouvons les mariages, décès, et naissances des familles pionières anglaises au Ristigouche de 1830 à 1925. Nous y trouvons aussi des expositions de peintures et artisanats locaux.

A 3km du centre d'interprétation, les visiteurs pourront prendre une marche dans le sentier qui les amène aux Chutes à Normand. Une marche de 20 minutes au travers du bois suivant un petit sentier prèt d'un ruisseau jusqu'aux chutes. Il y a aussi des endroits pour s'arrêter, se reposer ou pique-niquer.